Al-Farabi KazNU — Medicine Fees & Admission 2026-27

Al-Farabi Kazakh National University (NJSC, main site farabi.university, admissions at welcome.kaznu.kz) is a comprehensive national university in Almaty whose Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare runs the 6B10114 Medicine programme in Kazakh, Russian or English. This page sets out the verified numbers for Indian applicants, who count as “far abroad” in the university's pricing: 2,600,000 tenge a year for English-medium Medicine in 2026-2027, or 2,400,000 tenge in Kazakh or Russian, with the internship priced separately at 2,700,000 tenge a year. Selection is a two-stage online test — a core subject paper with a 13/20 threshold, then an English test needing 21 correct answers out of 30, with one attempt and no retakes.

Founded in 1934 and located in Almaty, Al-Farabi Kazakh National University is one of the largest and oldest higher education institutions in Kazakhstan. Named after the philosopher and scholar al-Farabi, the university received formal classification as a national university in 2001.

Its medical programme is 6B10114 Medicine, run by the Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare, with a separately priced internship in general medical practice, therapy, surgery or obstetrics and gynaecology. The university does not publish the total length of the medical course, so confirm it in writing before you apply.

Al Farabi Kazakh National University at a glance

  • Location: Almaty, Kazakhstan
  • Established: 1934
  • University Type: Public / National
  • Popular Course: 6B10114 Medicine, Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare
  • Course Duration: Bachelor + 2-year internship — confirm the total
  • Medium: Kazakh / Russian / English (separate English tariff)
  • Intake: Academic year September to May
  • Tuition 2026-27: 2,600,000 tenge / year (English, far abroad)
  • Entrance Exam: Two-stage online test: subject 13/20, English 21/30

About Al Farabi Kazakh National University

Al-Farabi Kazakh National University (NJSC, main site farabi.university, admissions at welcome.kaznu.kz) is a comprehensive national university in Almaty whose Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare runs the 6B10114 Medicine programme in Kazakh, Russian or English. This page sets out the verified numbers for Indian applicants, who count as “far abroad” in the university's pricing: 2,600,000 tenge a year for English-medium Medicine in 2026-2027, or 2,400,000 tenge in Kazakh or Russian, with the internship priced separately at 2,700,000 tenge a year. Selection is a two-stage online test — a core subject paper with a 13/20 threshold, then an English test needing 21 correct answers out of 30, with one attempt and no retakes.

Founded in 1934 and located in Almaty, Al-Farabi Kazakh National University is one of the largest and oldest higher education institutions in Kazakhstan. Named after the philosopher and scholar al-Farabi, the university received formal classification as a national university in 2001.

Its medical programme is 6B10114 Medicine, run by the Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare, with a separately priced internship in general medical practice, therapy, surgery or obstetrics and gynaecology. The university does not publish the total length of the medical course, so confirm it in writing before you apply.

Why choose Al Farabi Kazakh National University?

Al Farabi Kazakh National University offers a world-class academic foundation combined with a rich student experience. Key features include:

  • Tuition Approved and Published: The Board of Directors approves the foreign-student tuition each year and the university publishes the signed table, so the 2026-2027 Medicine rate is checkable rather than quoted by an agent.
  • Global Licensure Recognition: Course structure, recognition and admission requirements are set by the university and by the regulator in its own country, and should be confirmed in writing for your intake year before you apply.
  • An English-Medium Track with Its Own Price: The university's programme catalogue lists Medicine as available in Kazakh, Russian or English, and its tuition table prices the English-medium version separately — confirm in writing that every year of your course is taught in English.
  • A Published Selection Threshold: Pre-selection is two online tests on the university's own platform, with published pass marks: 13 out of 20 in the core subject and 21 out of 30 (70%) in English. Only one attempt is allowed.
  • Modern Campus & Security: Features 24/7 CCTV security, advanced computer suites, libraries, sports complexes, and active international support services.

MBBS course overview

The Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare runs the 6B10114 Medicine programme. The university's own programme catalogue shows a generic four-year duration for every bachelor programme, while its internship tuition table prices internship places in general medical practice, therapy, surgery and obstetrics and gynaecology — so ask in writing how many years Medicine actually runs and how the internship fits.

The academic framework focuses on balancing theoretical foundational knowledge with extensive clinical skills training.

  • Degree: 6B10114 Medicine (Bachelor's), Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare
  • Duration: Bachelor's programme plus a priced internship — confirm the total with the university
  • Medium of instruction: Kazakh, Russian or English (the catalogue lists all three; the tariff prices English separately)
  • Intake: The academic year runs 1 September to 30 May

Year-wise curriculum

  • 1st Year: Human Anatomy, Histology, General Biochemistry, Medical Physics, Medical Biology
  • 2nd Year: Human Physiology, Medical Microbiology, Parasitology, Pathology, General Pharmacology
  • 3rd Year: Pathomorphology, Pathophysiology, Clinical Pharmacology, Toxicology, Introduction to Clinical Skills
  • 4th Year: Internal Medicine, General Surgery, Community Medicine, Pediatrics, Diagnostic Radiology
  • 5th Year: Obstetrics & Gynecology, Ophthalmology, Otorhinolaryngology (ENT), Dermatology & Venereology, Psychiatry
  • Internship: Internship places are priced for 6B10115 General Medical Practice, 6B10117 Therapy, 6B10118 Surgery and Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Courses offered

  • 6B10114 Medicine (Bachelor's) — Confirm with the university
  • 6B10113 Dentistry (Bachelor's) — Confirm with the university
  • Internship: General Medical Practice, Therapy, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology — Priced per academic year
  • Master's programmes — 1-2 academic years
  • PhD doctoral studies — 3-4 academic years

Al Farabi Kazakh National University fee structure

The Board of Directors approves one tuition table a year for foreign citizens, in tenge. Indian applicants fall under “far abroad”:

Source: “Tuition for the training of specialists with higher education (bachelor's degree) for the 2026-2027 academic year for foreign citizens at Al-Farabi KazNU” and the matching postgraduate (internship) table, both approved by decision of the Board of Directors of NJSC “Al-Farabi Kazakh National University” No. 4 of 10 July 2026 and published on the university's page for foreign applicants at farabi.university. The Medicine and Dentistry rows are priced above the rest of the Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare. The internship table prices 6B10115 General Medical Practice, 6B10117 Therapy, 6B10118 Surgery and Obstetrics and Gynaecology at 2,700,000 tenge per academic year for foreign citizens. The tables do not state a hostel charge. The university separately publishes these additional costs for international students: visa extension in Kazakhstan about 30 MCI (about US$212), a medical certificate and HIV test from 4,500 tenge (about US$15), and notarised translation of education documents and the passport about 10,000 tenge (about US$25). The university states that after approval you sign a contract and pay 100%. There is no official rupee price. Confirm the figure for your intake in writing before you pay.

  • Medicine, English medium, far abroad (2026-27): 2,600,000 tenge
  • Medicine, Kazakh or Russian medium, far abroad (2026-27): 2,400,000 tenge
  • Medicine, English medium, near abroad (2026-27): 2,400,000 tenge
  • Internship year, Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare (2026-27): 2,700,000 tenge

Eligibility criteria

Foreign candidates seeking enrollment in the MBBS program at KazNU must satisfy the following criteria:

  • Academic Qualification: Minimum 50% aggregate marks in 10+2 / Senior Secondary with Physics, Chemistry, and Biology
  • NEET Requirement: NMC rules require Indian students to have qualified in NEET-UG before starting a medical course abroad if they intend to register in India. KazNU's own published requirements do not mention NEET, so ask the admissions office whether it wants the scorecard as well
  • Minimum Age: Must be at least 17 years old on or before December 31st of the entry year
  • Recognized Board: Completion of upper secondary schooling from CBSE, ICSE, or any recognized equivalent board
  • Stage 1 Test: Online test in the core subject for your programme on online-test.kaznu.kz; threshold 13 out of 20
  • Stage 2 Test: Online test in the language of instruction; for English you must answer at least 21 of 30 questions correctly (70%)
  • One Attempt: Only one attempt is given; retaking the entrance tests is not permitted, and results are invalid if you select the wrong language

Admission process 2026

The application workflow for international scholars applying to KazNU consists of clear sequential steps:

  • Register online on the university's applicant portal (univer.kaznu.kz).
  • Complete the application form and upload scans of the required documents — passport copy, diploma or school certificate, transcript, translations and medical certificates.
  • Register as an applicant on online-test.kaznu.kz and select the language of instruction you named in your application; choosing the wrong one invalidates your results.
  • Sit stage 1, the core-subject test, and score at least 13 out of 20.
  • Sit stage 2, the language test; for English you need at least 21 correct answers out of 30. You get one attempt, with no retakes.
  • A ranked list is drawn up; admission depends on your score and the places available.
  • Sign the contract and pay 100% of the tuition, then the university issues the visa invitation after the enrolment order.

Documents required

Essential documents required to complete the MBBS registration process at KazNU:

  • Application in free form addressed to the head of the organisation
  • Passport copy
  • School-leaving certificate or diploma, with the transcript
  • Notarised translations of the education documents and the passport (the university estimates about 10,000 tenge, roughly US$25)
  • Medical certificates, including an HIV test (the university estimates from 4,500 tenge, roughly US$15)
  • NEET-UG scorecard — needed for registration in India later; ask whether KazNU also requires it in your application pack
  • Recent colour passport-sized photographs
  • Check the current list and deadlines on the university's page for foreign applicants before you submit

Hostel & accommodation

KazNU offers modern, fully equipped residential facilities designed for comfortable living and study:

  • Cost: Not stated in the university's tuition tables or its published list of additional costs — ask the admissions office for the current dormitory rate in writing
  • Campus: KazNU runs a large campus city in Almaty with student residences; confirm which building your faculty is allocated to
  • Room Types: Shared rooms; confirm occupancy and what is included
  • Dining Options: On-campus cafeterias and shops
  • Other costs: Visa extension in Kazakhstan about 30 MCI (roughly US$212) per the university's own estimate

Clinical training

Practical medical education is deeply integrated into the core curriculum at KazNU:

  • Clinical clerkships conducted at top-tier affiliated hospital facilities and research centers in Almaty.
  • Hands-on diagnostic training and patient interaction supervised by senior medical practitioners.
  • Rotational training across Internal Medicine, General Surgery, Pediatrics, and Radiology.
  • Includes a 1-year compulsory clinical internship to ensure professional independence.

Recognition & accreditation

The National Medical Commission states that it "does not endorse any list of Foreign Medical Institutions/ Universities for MBBS or equivalent course", so no foreign medical university is "NMC approved". What decides your eligibility to register in India is the course you take. Verify the following directly with the university, in writing:

  • Classified as a National University by the Government of Kazakhstan
  • Check the course against the NMC's Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate (FMGL) Regulations, 2021 — at least 54 months of study, a 12-month internship at the same institution, and English as the medium of instruction throughout.
  • Confirm the university is registered with the body competent to grant a licence to practise medicine in its own country, on the same terms as that country's own graduates.
  • Look the university up yourself in the World Directory of Medical Schools (wdoms.org). A listing records that a school exists — it is not an accreditation, a recognition or an endorsement.

Career opportunities

Medical graduates from KazNU benefit from strong employment prospects globally:

  • Dedicated Graduates Career Center offering placement assistance and internship guidance.
  • Annual Job and Internship Fairs connecting students directly with international healthcare employers.
  • Eligible to sit for the NEXT / FMGE licensing examinations to practice in India.
  • Qualified to pursue postgraduate residency and specialized practice across the USA, UK, Europe, and Asia.

Student life

Students at KazNU enjoy an active, diverse, and enriching university life in Almaty:

  • Multicultural atmosphere bringing together thousands of students from diverse countries.
  • Active international student offices providing assistance with visas, accommodation, and personal welfare.
  • Extensive variety of student organizations, sports clubs, and cultural societies.
  • Annual cultural celebrations and festivals introducing traditional Kazakh culture.

Al Farabi Kazakh National University (KazNU) — frequently asked questions

Is Al Farabi Kazakh National University recognized by the NMC?

No foreign medical university holds "NMC approved" status — the National Medical Commission states that it "does not endorse any list of Foreign Medical Institutions/ Universities for MBBS or equivalent course". What decides whether you can register to practise in India is whether your course meets the NMC's Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate (FMGL) Regulations, 2021 — at least 54 months of study, a 12-month internship at the same institution and English as the medium of instruction — followed by the screening examination and a further 12 months of supervised internship in India. Confirm the current position with the university in writing before you apply.

What is the Medicine tuition fee at KazNU for 2026-27?

Under the tuition table approved by the Board of Directors on 10 July 2026, foreign citizens from the far abroad — which includes India — pay 2,600,000 tenge a year for Medicine taught in English, or 2,400,000 tenge in Kazakh or Russian. Near-abroad applicants pay 2,400,000 tenge in English. Internship years in the Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare are 2,700,000 tenge a year.

What does the KazNU fee exclude?

The tuition tables do not include accommodation, and the university lists these extra costs for international students: visa extension in Kazakhstan about 30 MCI (roughly US$212), a medical certificate and HIV test from 4,500 tenge (about US$15), and notarised translation of education documents and passport about 10,000 tenge (about US$25). Insurance, travel and living costs are also on top. The university states that after approval you sign a contract and pay 100%.

How long is the Medicine course at KazNU?

The university's programme catalogue lists 6B10114 Medicine as a bachelor's programme and shows a generic four-year duration for every bachelor entry, while a separate internship tuition table prices internship places in general medical practice, therapy, surgery and obstetrics and gynaecology. Get the total length and the internship arrangement in writing before you apply, especially if you need the course to meet the NMC's Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate Regulations.

Is there an entrance exam at KazNU for international students?

Yes. Pre-selection for bachelor programmes is two online tests on the university's platform at online-test.kaznu.kz. Stage one is a core-subject test with a threshold of 13 out of 20; stage two tests your command of the language of instruction, and for English you must answer at least 21 of 30 questions correctly. One attempt only, no retakes, and results are invalid if you select the wrong language.

Is the Medicine course taught in English?

The university's catalogue lists Medicine as available in Kazakh, Russian and English, and its tuition table prices the English-medium version separately. Confirm in writing that all years, including the clinical years and internship, are delivered in English.

Is NEET required for Indian students at KazNU?

NMC rules require Indian students to have qualified in NEET-UG before starting a medical course abroad if they want to register in India afterwards. KazNU's own published admission requirements set out the online testing and document list and do not mention NEET, so ask the admissions office whether it wants the scorecard too.

What documents does KazNU require?

An application in free form addressed to the head of the organisation, a passport copy, your diploma or school-leaving certificate with the transcript, notarised translations of the education documents and passport, and medical certificates including an HIV test. Deadlines and the full list are published on the university's page for foreign applicants.

What is the admission process, step by step?

Register on the applicant portal, upload the documents, register on the testing platform and select the language of instruction you named in your application, sit the two-stage test, then wait for the ranked list. Admission depends on your score and available places; you then sign a contract, pay in full, and the university issues the visa invitation after the enrolment order.

When does the academic year start?

The university states that the academic year at Al-Farabi KazNU runs from 1 September to 30 May. Check the entrance-exam schedule published on the page for foreign applicants for your intake's test dates.

Does KazNU provide a hostel, and what does it cost?

KazNU runs a large campus city in Almaty with student residences, but the current rate is not stated in its tuition tables or its published list of additional costs, so we do not quote one. Ask the admissions office for the dormitory rate in writing.

Compare KazNU with other options