Jiamusi University China — Fees, Admission & MBBS Status
Jiamusi University (佳木斯大学) is a public provincial university in Jiamusi, Heilongjiang, and it does teach medicine — but an English-medium MBBS here cannot be verified. Its own 2026-2027 international recruiting brochure, published on 27 November 2025, prices undergraduate medicine at RMB 14,000-20,000 per academic year, with a RMB 400 registration fee, accommodation at RMB 12,000 per room per year and insurance at RMB 800 a year, and lists no English-taught MBBS. The university also does not appear on the Ministry of Education's list of institutions commissioned to enrol English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine students from abroad. Indian applicants should get written confirmation of the language of instruction and the degree awarded before paying anything.
Bachelor's applicants must hold a high school qualification with good grades, are generally expected to be under 25, and must sit the China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) organised by the China Scholarship Council.
Course structure, recognition and admission requirements are set by the university and by the regulator in its own country, and should be confirmed in writing for your intake year before you apply.
Jiamusi University at a glance
- Location: Jiamusi, Heilongjiang, China
- Established: 1947
- University Type: Public provincial university
- Popular Course: Undergraduate medicine (see language note)
- Medium: Not confirmed as English — verify before applying
- Intake: Applications accepted at any time
- Tuition (2026-27): RMB 14,000-20,000 per academic year
- Accommodation: RMB 12,000 per room per year
- Entrance Exam: CSCA required for bachelor's applicants
About Jiamusi University
Jiamusi University (佳木斯大学) is a public provincial university in Jiamusi, Heilongjiang, and it does teach medicine — but an English-medium MBBS here cannot be verified. Its own 2026-2027 international recruiting brochure, published on 27 November 2025, prices undergraduate medicine at RMB 14,000-20,000 per academic year, with a RMB 400 registration fee, accommodation at RMB 12,000 per room per year and insurance at RMB 800 a year, and lists no English-taught MBBS. The university also does not appear on the Ministry of Education's list of institutions commissioned to enrol English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine students from abroad. Indian applicants should get written confirmation of the language of instruction and the degree awarded before paying anything.
Bachelor's applicants must hold a high school qualification with good grades, are generally expected to be under 25, and must sit the China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) organised by the China Scholarship Council.
Course structure, recognition and admission requirements are set by the university and by the regulator in its own country, and should be confirmed in writing for your intake year before you apply.
Why choose Jiamusi University?
Before comparing this university with others, read what the official sources do and do not say:
- Not on the Ministry of Education's English-MBBS list: The Ministry of Education's most recent published list of universities commissioned to enrol English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine students from abroad (教外厅函〔2023〕10号, 44 universities) does not include 佳木斯大学. The notice states that universities not on the list may not enrol such students and may not issue an English-language degree certificate bearing "MBBS".
- No English-taught MBBS in the university's own brochure: The university's 2026-2027 international student recruiting brochure sets out undergraduate, master's, doctoral and Chinese-language programmes and fee bands. It does not describe an English-taught MBBS.
- Low published tuition: Undergraduate tuition, including the medicine category, is RMB 14,000-20,000 per academic year — among the lowest published in China. That is a genuine advantage only if the programme you are actually buying is the one you think it is.
- Scholarship-eligible institution: The university states it hosts Chinese Government Scholarship and Heilongjiang Provincial Government Scholarship students, and its agency number for Chinese Government Scholarship applications is 10222.
- What Oaks will confirm for you: Ask the university in writing, before any payment: in which language undergraduate medicine is taught, the exact wording of the degree certificate, and whether it is on the Ministry of Education's English-medium clinical medicine list for your intake year. Keep the reply.
MBBS course overview
The university's 2026-2027 international recruiting brochure covers bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees and Chinese language programmes, with tuition set by broad subject category rather than by named programme. Medicine appears as an undergraduate fee category; the brochure does not describe an English-taught MBBS, a six-year structure or an internship year.
The brochure notes that the academic year runs 1 March to 1 July and 1 September to 31 December — eight months of teaching. The university also runs Chinese refresher and Chinese undergraduate courses and is an HSK test centre.
- Medium of instruction: Not confirmed as English for undergraduate medicine — confirm in writing with the university
- Intake: Applications accepted at any time, per the university's brochure
Courses offered
- Undergraduate degree — medicine category — Confirm with the university
- Undergraduate degree — liberal arts, science and engineering, arts and sports — Confirm with the university
- Master's degree — medicine and other categories — Confirm with the university
- Doctoral degree — medicine and science and engineering — Confirm with the university
- Chinese language, long-term and short-term — By month, semester or academic year
Jiamusi University fee structure
All figures below are the university's own published amounts, in Chinese yuan (RMB / CNY):
Source: "佳木斯大学2026-2027年度来华留学招生简章 / 2026-2027 Recruiting Brochure of International Students", published by Jiamusi University's International Education College at iec.jmsu.edu.cn on 27 November 2025. It gives self-funded undergraduate tuition of 14,000-20,000 RMB per academic year (medicine sits in the same band as liberal arts, science and engineering, and arts and sports), master's 18,000-26,000 RMB and doctoral 25,000-32,000 RMB; a registration fee of 400 RMB; accommodation in the international student apartment of 12,000 RMB per room per year for long-term students, single or two to three per room, with short-term rooms at 1,500 RMB per month and a discount for students who pay by academic year, calculated over ten months; and insurance of 800 RMB per year or 400 RMB per semester. Residence permit and textbook costs are charged as actually incurred. The brochure defines the academic year as 1 March to 1 July and 1 September to 31 December, eight months of teaching. All amounts are in Chinese yuan (RMB / CNY); the university publishes no rupee figure, so your rupee cost depends on the exchange rate on the day each instalment is paid. The brochure does not price an English-taught MBBS, because it does not list one — do not accept an agent's MBBS fee quote for this university without written confirmation from iec.jmsu.edu.cn (jmsuadmission@jmsu.edu.cn).
- Bachelor's — medicine (per academic year): RMB 14,000-20,000 — hostel RMB 12,000 per room per year
- Bachelor's — other categories (per academic year): RMB 14,000-20,000 — hostel RMB 12,000 per room per year
- Master's — medicine (per academic year): RMB 18,000-26,000 — hostel RMB 12,000 per room per year
- Doctoral — medicine (per academic year): RMB 25,000-32,000 — hostel RMB 12,000 per room per year
- Registration / application fee: RMB 400 (one-off)
- Insurance: RMB 800 per year, or RMB 400 per semester
Eligibility criteria
The conditions the university's 2026-2027 brochure sets for self-funded applicants:
- Bachelor's degree applicants: A high school qualification with excellent grades; applicants are generally expected to be under 25 years of age.
- Master's and doctoral applicants: A bachelor's degree and under 35 for master's; a master's degree with excellent grades and under 45 for doctoral study (under 40 for scholarship applicants).
- China Scholastic Competency Assessment: Bachelor's applicants must provide a CSCA score report — applicants must sit the China Scholastic Competency Assessment organised by the China Scholarship Council (www.csca.cn).
- Applicants under 18: Students under 18 whose parents do not live in China must have parents formally entrust a foreign or Chinese resident in China as guardian, with written proof.
- Language of instruction: The brochure does not state that undergraduate medicine is taught in English, and it does not set an English test requirement. It notes the university runs Chinese refresher and Chinese undergraduate courses and is an HSK test centre. Confirm the language of instruction in writing.
- NEET (Indian students): India's National Medical Commission requires a qualifying NEET-UG result for an Indian student to be eligible to register in India after a foreign primary medical qualification. Separately, the FMGL Regulations, 2021 require English as the medium of instruction throughout — which is precisely what cannot be verified here.
Admission process 2026
What the university's brochure sets out for self-funded applicants:
- Complete the Application Form for International Students, issued by the university, in Chinese or English.
- Sit the China Scholastic Competency Assessment (CSCA) and obtain the score report, which is compulsory for bachelor's applications.
- Submit the notarised copy of your highest educational certificate, with the notarised document in Chinese or English.
- Submit a study or research plan in Chinese or English, and a Foreigner Physical Examination Record completed in English.
- Email the application to jmsuadmission@jmsu.edu.cn for self-funded study, or jmsuadmission@163.com for scholarship enquiries. Applications are accepted at any time.
- Before paying anything, ask for written confirmation of the language of instruction, the duration, the internship arrangements and the exact wording of the degree certificate for the medicine programme you are being offered.
- Chinese student visa formalities follow the university's admission documents; ask the International Education College for the JW202/JW201 form and confirm which visa category (X1 or X2) applies to your course length.
Documents required
Documents the brochure requires from self-funded applicants:
- Application Form for International Students, issued by the university, completed in Chinese or English
- Notarised copy of the highest educational certificate or diploma obtained, notarised in Chinese or English
- CSCA Score Report for Undergraduate Admission (compulsory for bachelor's applicants)
- HSK certificate copy, if you hold one
- Study or research plan in Chinese or English
- Foreigner Physical Examination Record, completed in English
- Passport copy
- Two recommendation letters from professors or associate professors — not required for undergraduate applications
Hostel & accommodation
What the brochure publishes about accommodation:
- Long-term students: International student apartment, RMB 12,000 per room per year — single rooms or two to three students per room.
- Short-term students: International student apartment, RMB 1,500 per room per month; the International Conference Centre is RMB 100 per room per day.
- Discount: The university gives a discount to students who pay accommodation by academic year, calculated over ten months.
- Other costs: Insurance is RMB 800 per year or RMB 400 per semester; residence permit and textbook costs are charged as actually incurred.
Recognition & accreditation
The National Medical Commission states that it "does not endorse any list of Foreign Medical Institutions/ Universities for MBBS or equivalent course", so no foreign medical university is "NMC approved". For Jiamusi University there is a prior and more basic problem, set out below. Verify all of this directly with the university, in writing, before you pay anything:
- 佳木斯大学 (Jiamusi University) does not appear on the Ministry of Education's list of universities commissioned to enrol English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine students from abroad. The most recent such list published on moe.gov.cn is 教外厅函〔2023〕10号, which names 44 universities and 3,048 places for 2023-2024.
- That notice states that universities not on the list may not enrol English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine students from abroad, may not issue an English-language degree certificate bearing "MBBS", and may only enrol Chinese-taught clinical medicine students from abroad. It also forbids enrolling international students under a "bilingual teaching" label as a workaround.
- The university's own 2026-2027 international recruiting brochure lists no English-taught MBBS programme.
- The NMC's Foreign Medical Graduate Licentiate (FMGL) Regulations, 2021 require English as the medium of instruction throughout, at least 54 months of study and a 12-month internship at the same institution. If undergraduate medicine here is taught in Chinese, a graduate is unlikely to meet those conditions.
- If you are still considering this university, ask it in writing for: the language of instruction for every year of the course, the exact wording of the degree certificate, the internship arrangements, and confirmation of its status on the Ministry of Education's list for your intake year. Keep the written reply.
- Look the university up yourself in the World Directory of Medical Schools (wdoms.org). A listing records that a school exists — it is not an accreditation, a recognition or an endorsement, and it says nothing about the language of instruction.
Jiamusi University (JMU) — frequently asked questions
Does Jiamusi University offer MBBS in English?
This cannot be verified from official sources. 佳木斯大学 does not appear on the Ministry of Education's most recent published list of universities commissioned to enrol English-taught undergraduate clinical medicine students from abroad (教外厅函〔2023〕10号), and the university's own 2026-2027 international recruiting brochure lists no English-taught MBBS. The Ministry's notice states that universities not on the list may not enrol such students or issue an English-language degree certificate bearing "MBBS". Get written confirmation from the university before paying anything.
What is the tuition fee at Jiamusi University?
The university's 2026-2027 international recruiting brochure, published on 27 November 2025, gives self-funded undergraduate tuition of RMB 14,000-20,000 per academic year, with medicine in the same band as other subject groups. Master's degrees are RMB 18,000-26,000 and doctoral degrees RMB 25,000-32,000 per academic year.
What is not included in the Jiamusi University fee?
Tuition excludes the RMB 400 registration fee, accommodation at RMB 12,000 per room per year, insurance at RMB 800 per year or RMB 400 per semester, and residence permit and textbook costs, which the brochure says are charged as actually incurred. Food, travel and personal expenses are also separate.
What is the admission process at Jiamusi University?
Complete the university's Application Form for International Students in Chinese or English, sit the CSCA and obtain the score report, and submit your notarised highest educational certificate, a study plan, a Foreigner Physical Examination Record in English and a passport copy to jmsuadmission@jmsu.edu.cn. Applications are accepted at any time. Ask for written answers on the language of instruction and the degree awarded before you pay.
What documents are required for Jiamusi University admission?
The university's application form, a notarised copy of your highest educational certificate (notarised in Chinese or English), the CSCA score report for undergraduate admission, an HSK certificate copy if you have one, a study or research plan, a Foreigner Physical Examination Record completed in English, and a passport copy. Recommendation letters are not required for undergraduate applications.
Is NEET required for Indian students at Jiamusi University?
The university's brochure does not mention NEET. India's National Medical Commission requires a qualifying NEET-UG result for an Indian student to be eligible to register in India after a foreign primary medical qualification — but NEET alone does not solve the bigger problem here, which is that an English-medium medical course at this university cannot be verified.
What are the eligibility criteria at Jiamusi University?
Bachelor's applicants need a high school qualification with excellent grades and are generally expected to be under 25. A CSCA score report is compulsory. Applicants under 18 whose parents do not live in China must have a guardian in China formally entrusted in writing.
How long is the medical course at Jiamusi University?
The university's international brochure sets fees by subject category and does not publish a duration, structure or internship arrangement for an English-taught medical degree. Ask the International Education College in writing for the duration and internship terms of the specific programme you are offered.
What language is undergraduate medicine taught in at Jiamusi University?
The brochure does not state that undergraduate medicine is taught in English and sets no English test requirement; it does note that the university runs Chinese refresher and Chinese undergraduate courses and is an HSK test centre. Because the Ministry of Education restricts English-medium clinical medicine to universities on its published list, and Jiamusi is not on it, assume teaching is in Chinese unless the university confirms otherwise in writing.
When are the intakes, and what accommodation is available?
The brochure says applications are accepted at any time and defines the academic year as 1 March to 1 July and 1 September to 31 December, eight months of teaching. Accommodation in the international student apartment costs RMB 12,000 per room per year for long-term students, single or two to three per room, with a discount for paying by academic year calculated over ten months.